Wilderness Narrative

I walked along a trail filled with roots and branches crowding the path, and dozens of trees on either side of me. The trail was so lively with tall trees, short plants, and animals running through the trees like a maze. I spotted a tree that had fallen over, and pulled up all its roots with it. The fallen tree looked old, as if it had been lying there for a couple years. The bark was covered in dust and mud, and moss covered the tree like a blanket. Other various roots and branches strangled the tree as it lied on the ground, and formed an enclosure around the tree. The tree was obviously dead, which brought a sense of sadness to me that a part of nature had died. It made me even more sad to think about the habitat that this tree once provided. Animals survived off the leaves of the tree, and other animals lived down by the roots. I thought about how plants eventually wither away in nature, and it is just the natural part of life. As I looked closer at the tree, I noticed life living in the cracks of the dead tree. Insects crawled along the dead roots, and other creatures were scurrying under the tree. New plants that were green and colorful were growing around the old brown-colored fallen tree, and used the tree’s shadow for shade. I saw how nature created new life out of something that had died. I saw life created by death. This was regeneration, and it gave me a sense of hope that something good can come from something bad. Death is a part of nature, and many times it brings with it misery. However, we must understand that life comes from death, and regeneration is an important aspect of nature that gives life a fighting chance.

One thought on “Wilderness Narrative

  1. Kate,
    I really enjoyed this posting. I like how you went into incredible detail about the tree, stating, “The bark was covered in dust and mud, and moss covered the tree like a blanket”. This is very good detailing because I was able to picture this tree and relate it to other trees I have seen of its kind. Also the use of the simile ‘like a blanket’ is awesome because it depicts a mossy blanket literally draped upon the tree. The way you saw that with death comes life and vice versa was also very eloquent. I was disappointed at first at how you let the dead tree bum you out so much (because dead trees are just as big of a habitat for wildlife as living ones), but you came back and realized that it is now a house for a whole new range of creatures and will eventually be the home of many new trees and other plants.

    Reply

Leave a comment